3 students talk with each other


OIED's assessment model is built with three guiding frameworks. 

OIED’s assessment model is built with three guiding frameworks: Tharp’s Cultural Consciousness Matrix (2015); Marcella LaFever’s Medicine Wheel; and NADOHE’s Standards of Professional Practice for Chief Diversity Officers in Higher Education.

OIED assessment wheel


Program Assessment Model of the Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity 


Where the initiative operates – NC State University.

Four Domains of Learning:

Intellectual, Emotional, Physical, Spiritual.

Levels of Learning:

Institutional, Communal, Interpersonal, Intrapersonal, Cultural.

Dimensions of Identities:

For example, Race, Gender, Sexual Orientation, Socioeconomic Status, Religion, National Origin, Political Affiliation, Immigration/Documentation Status, First Generation, Language Spoken, Body Shape/Size, Veteran Status, Survivors of Interpersonal Violence, Alumni, Graduate Students, Staff, Undergraduate Students, Faculty.

Standards of Practice:

Assessment and Accountability; Campus Culture and Climate; Equal Opportunity Employment; Institutional, Student, Faculty, Staff Excellence; Mentoring and Leadership Development; Recruitment, Retention and Graduation; Research and Inquiry; Strategic Planning; and Training and Education.