Ebony Harlem Awards Celebration Uplifts Achievements

Ebony Harlem Awards 2021 on Stafford Commons

The African American Cultural Center celebrated the annual Ebony Harlem Awards on Stafford Commons on the evening of Sunday, April 25, 2021. This year’s celebration was also simulcast on YouTube Premiere.

The Ebony Harlem Awards of Excellence is the annual celebration of Black excellence at NC State. The event began in 1993, making this year the 27th anniversary of recognizing the amazing efforts and impact of the Black community on- and off-campus. This special program recognizes current NC State students, faculty and staff who reflect and represent, through their leadership, dedication and talents, the mission of the African American Cultural Center.

We congratulate this year’s honorees as well as all the 2021 graduates.

Undergraduate Awards

Literary Talent Award Nominees

  • Elikem Dodor (recipient)
  • Ugonna Ezuma-Igwe
  • Jalen Rose

Dance Award Nominees

  • Kaelah Avery 
  • Jailyn Gales 
  • Taylor Rowland (recipient)

Instrumental Music Award Nominees

  • D’Alex Thomas  (recipient)
  • Nate Browning

Vocal Music Award Nominees

  • Mayaan Eaves
  • Gabriel Montague (recipient)
  • Josi Ocran

Art Award Nominees

  • Joseph Campbell (recipient)

Entrepreneurship Award Nominees

  • Taylor Butler-Majesty 
  • Juniper Nie (recipient)
  • Joseph Campbell

Toni “Mama” Thorpe Activism Award Nominees

  • Joanay Tann 
  • Ugonna Ezuma-Igwe 
  • Elikem Dodor
  • Dae Melvin 
  • Toinette Powers (recipient)

Joanne Woodard Leadership Award Nominees

  • Toinette Powers 
  • Tashana Flewwellin 
  • Jarrell Patterson (recipient)
  • Juniper Nie 
  • Elikem Dodor 
  • Kita Adams

Augustus Witherspoon Distinguished Person Award Nominees

  • Brianna Harvey 
  • Starr Gibens

Nash Winstead Academic Achievement Award

  • Toinette Powers 
  • Amira Watson (recipient)
  • James Daniels

Dame-Dame Undergraduate Research Award

  • Michael Lewis 
  • Sydney Floryanzia (recipient)

Graduate Awards

From Theory to Nia Award

  • Tahj Boston
  • Tsharre Sanders
  • Tiffany Dangleben (recipient)
  • Jeremy Lea

Graduate Student Impact Award

  • Nia Powell 
  • Tiffany Dangleben 
  • Chelsea Smith (recipient)
  • Darien Dixon
  • Dion T. Harry

Staff Awards

Jegnaship Award

  • Angelitha Daniel (recipient)
  • Jameco McKenzie 
  • Lynn Locklear Fisher 
  • Dr. Lisa Bass Freeman 
  • Keith Martin

Sticks in a Bundle Award

  • Jameco McKenzie 
  • Kory Saunders (recipient)
  • Bradford Hill

Faculty Awards

Dr. Lawrence M. Clark Faculty Development Award

  • Marc Grimmett (recipient)
  • Jameco McKenzie 
  • Karen Bullock 
  • Tara Mullins

Undergraduate Research Award

  • Kay Sumpter 
  • angela gay-audre (recipient)

Graduate Student Mentor Award

  • Joy Gaston Gayles (recipient)
  • DeLeon Gray