OIED Recognizes Eight Award Winners at the 2024 Recognizing Excellence in Diversity (RED) Event

Sheri Schwab, Vice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity, and Chancellor Randy Woodson pose with RED Event winners on Tuesday.

The Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity hosted its 18th annual Recognizing Excellence in Diversity (RED) Event on Tuesday afternoon, presenting the Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards in six categories and the DEI Awards. The RED Event honors and celebrates the exceptional accomplishments and contributions of outstanding faculty, staff, students, colleges, student organizations and alumni in the areas of equity, diversity, inclusion, belonging and well-being throughout the 2023-24 academic year.

The award ceremony began with a performance by the NC State Folklorico Club, showcasing the rich cultural heritage of Folklorico dance. Attendees also enjoyed remarks from several guest speakers, including Sheri Schwab, Vice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity and Chancellor Woodson.

Chancellor’s Creating Community Award Winners:

Outstanding Faculty

Dr. Christy Byrd
Associate Professor, College of Education

Outstanding Staff

Shara Cotton
International Student and Scholar Advisor, Office of International Services

Outstanding Student

Jayla Moody Marshall, doctoral student, College of Education

Outstanding Student Organization

Voluntarios Ahora en Raleigh (VOLAR)

Outstanding College/Unit/Organization

NC State Libraries

Outstanding Alumni

Diego Cancel ‘16, Environmental Technologies and Management

DEI Award Winners:

Dr. Jackie Bruce
Associate Professor, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Dr. Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi
Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, College of Humanities and Social Sciences


The Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity would like to extend a special thank you to the following event partners:


Mort’s Trophies

Rave! Events

WolfBytes Video Production Services

And NC State’s Folklorico Club