Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards Go Virtual

Chancellor Randy Woodson speaks at the virtual Chancellor's Creating Community Awards, April 22, 2020

The annual Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards honor outstanding faculty, staff, colleges, students and student organizations that have made exceptional efforts and contributions in the areas of equity, diversity and inclusion. In 2020, the Alumni Legacy Award was added to honor outstanding alumni.

Last year’s Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards program took place virtually on April 22, 2020, premiering on the Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity’s YouTube channel.

In addition to their recognition and a plaque, recipients receive a monetary award.

2020 Nominees

Outstanding Faculty

Joy Gaston Gayles
Joy Gaston Gayles
  • Helen Armstrong, Graphic Design
  • H.T. Banks, Mathematics
  • Joy Gaston Gayles, Educational Leadership, Policy and Human Development (recipient)
  • Claire Gordy, Biological Sciences
  • Adam Hartstone-Rose, Biological Sciences
  • Elan Hope, Psychology
  • Zakiya Leggett, Forestry
  • Francine Ott, Dance
  • Melissa Ramirez, Biological Sciences
  • Jelena Vukomanovic, Parks, Recreation and Tourism
  • Karl Wegmann, Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

“Dr. Gayles has a distinguished career of excellence in teaching, research and service. Issues of diversity and inclusion are major areas of focus across all three domains of her work (teaching, research and service) and she has created a national reputation as a catalyst for institutional change.”

Outstanding Staff

Wesley Wade
Wesley Wade
  • Laura Castro, College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Veronica Catete, Computer Science
  • Raymond Corbett, Facilities
  • Brian DeConick, Office of Information Technology
  • Jacqueline Freeman, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Wyona Goodwin, Disability Resource Office
  • Daniel Hackley, Registration and Records
  • Rachel Kasten, Center for Geospatial Analytics
  • Kyle Keith, Study Abroad
  • Heather King, Office of Undergraduate Research
  • Hillary Leggette, Gregg Museum
  • Meghan Luzader, University Housing
  • Donna Petherbridge, DELTA
  • Crystal Tenan, Office of Information Technology
  • Wesley Wade, Career Development Center (recipient)
  • Sarah Wright, TRIO Programs

“Mr. Wade regularly goes far above and beyond his professional duties to create and implement targeted support, mentoring and career development initiatives for NC State students from diverse populations.”

Outstanding Student

Dani Dalton
Dani Dalton
  • Jayna Lennon, Political Science
  • Alexa DeFalco, Education
  • Dani Dalton, Philosophy (recipient)

“Over her two-and-a-half years at NC State, Dani has made service focused on diversity and inclusion one of her main priorities… As founder and president of the Feminist Collective of NC State, she and her team have developed it to provide space for social justice organizations to collaborate, create and connect.”

Outstanding Student Organization

  • ECE (Electrical and Computer Engineering) Student Ambassadors
  • Hip Hop Project
  • Channel Blond
  • Student Veterans Association (recipient)
Student Veterans Association
Student Veterans Association

“Representing just over 2% of the overall student body, Student Veterans Association (SVA) advocates for and empowers all student veterans at NC State… It aims to inspire yesterday’s warriors by connecting student veterans with the necessary resources, network, support, and advocacy to ensure student veterans can effectively connect, expand their skills, and ultimately achieve their greatest potential. SVA strives to enrich the experience and college life not only for fellow Veterans, but all military families and affiliates by working to improve campus culture for Veterans that are in the process of transitioning or have been separated, and create policies that allow service members to continue their education and professional development more seamlessly.”[/caption]

Outstanding College, Organization or Unit

Wilson College of Textiles
Wilson College of Textiles
  • NC State Libraries
  • NC State Live
  • Health and Exercise Studies
  • CALS Office of Human Resources
  • Wilson College of Textiles (recipient)

“We have accomplished a great deal in the last several years since we began this journey, and there is much to achieve. Yet, we are on the right path as evidenced by the 2020 Employee Engagement Survey response rate — an astounding 80%!”

Alumni Legacy Award

Samantha Warren
Samantha Warren

The inaugural Alumni Legacy Award goes to Samantha Warren, human resources and diversity and inclusion manager at GlaxoSmithKline.

“Samantha has demonstrated a deep commitment to social justice, diversity, equity and inclusion for the past ten years through her work as a volunteer Employee Resource Group leader; through her profession as an inclusion and diversity manager at a top-10 pharma company; and through her role as a Board of Directors member and an Inclusion and Diversity Taskforce co-lead with the Junior League of Raleigh.”

The Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity congratulates all the nominees and thanks them for their efforts to make NC State a more welcoming, inclusive and equitable learning and working environment for all of us.