Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards Honor Six Recipients

Study Abroad Office staff

The Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity announced six recipients of this year’s Chancellor’s Creating Community Awards on April 23, 2019 in the Ballroom of Talley Student Union.

The awards presentation took place at the first annual combined Recognizing Excellence in Diversity Event, which also included the Equal Opportunity Institute Graduation.

Speakers and presenters included (in order of appearance): Interim Vice Provost for Institutional Equity and Diversity Sheri Schwab; Chancellor Randy Woodson; Professor of Social Work Karen Bullock; Assistant Equal Opportunity Officer David Elrod; Sustainability Program Specialist Oppong Hemeng; Director of Multicultural Student Affairs Nashia Whittenburg; Associate Director of Student Services for Recruitment and Diversity, Wilson College of Textiles, Delisha Hinton; African American Cultural Center Director Moses Greene; Equal Opportunity Program Coordinator Mia Thompson; Transportation Customer Service Representative Cecilia Dorado; African American Cultural Center Administrative Assistant Tonya Hines; Vice Chancellor and Dean of Academic and Student Affairs Mike Mullen; Senior Director of Campus Community Centers Reggie Barnes; Assistant Equal Opportunity Officer Carley Dix; OIED Director of Outreach and Education Beverly Jones Williams; OIED Program Coordinator Erin Morant; and Associate Vice Provost for Diversity Engagement, Training and Education Stephanie Helms Pickett.

This Year’s Recipients

We congratulate all of the 2019 nominees.

Outstanding Faculty

  • Zakiya Leggett (recipient)

Outstanding Staff

  • Becky Cibulskis (recipient)
  • Eileen Haase
  • Durrell Hurst
  • Jeremy Lea
  • Jamila Simpson
  • Robyn Stout

Outstanding Undergraduate Student

  • Daniel Choi
  • Mia Connell
  • Dani Dalton
  • Indira Gutierrez
  • Libby Indermaur (recipient)
  • Kyana Miller
  • Fri Momin
  • Coleman Simpson

Outstanding Graduate Student

  • Kalene Hanson (honorable mention)
  • Dana Jennings
  • Crystal Thibodeaux
  • Olivia Vila (recipient)

Outstanding Student Organization

  • The Advancement of Women Entrepreneurs
  • Cultural Exchange Network
  • Education Council
  • Japan Club
  • Oaks Leadership Scholars Program (recipient)
  • Women’s Rugby Club

Outstanding College or Division

  • The Center for Environmental Farming Systems (honorable mention)
  • The Crafts Center
  • Poole College of Management
  • Study Abroad (recipient)
  • The College of Veterinary Medicine

Zakiya Leggett
Zakiya Leggett
Becky Cibulskis
Becky Cibulskis
Libby Indermaur's mom
Libby Indermaur’s mom
Olivia Vila
Olivia Vila
Coleman Simpson of the Oaks Leadership Scholars
Coleman Simpson
Oaks Leadership Scholars