NC State University logo


Sisterhood Dinner Celebrates and Honors NC State Women

Three Equity for Women Award Winners Announced for 2013

On the evening of Monday, February 25, 2013, the Provost's Advisory Council on the Status of Women and the Office for Institutional Equity and Diversity hosted the 13th annual NC State Sisterhood Dinner at McKimmon Center. Welcoming a record attendance this year of 416 staff, faculty, and students from across the University, the annual Sisterhood Dinner is an opportunity to celebrate, honor, and reflect on the achievements made by and on behalf of women. This year's theme was " 125 Transformational Women of NC State." Selected from NC State's beginning 125 years ago through the present day, the women who were highlighted through a slide show and commemorative poster have all advanced opportunities for the women who followed, either directly or indirectly.

Introduced by Alyssa Rockenbach from the College of Education and chair of the Council on the Status of Women, Chancellor Randy Woodson gave the opening remarks. Keynote speaker Barbara Mulkey, Chair of the Board of Trustees and Founder and CEO of Mulkey Engineers & Consultants, spoke about changes in the workplace that women have achieved. After a performance by NC State a capella group Ladies in Red, James Jeuck, Extension Associate in the College of Natural Resources and chair of the sub-committee for the 2013 NC State Equity for Women Awards, announced this year's winners:

Student Award: Amanda McKnight, a junior in Psychology, mentor for the Women of Welch (WOW) Village, staff writer for the Nubian Message, and student coordinator of New Student Orientation who has served on the University Housing Student Conduct Board.

Staff Award: Dr. Anona Smith-Williams, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs, College of Education, for promoting leadership development, supporting women and minority faculty and staff, and being a voice for equity.

Faculty Award: Dr. Montserrat Fuentes, Head of the Department of Statistics, for major contributions to the equity and well-being of women at NC State, including promoting and establishing family-friendly policies, serving as a senior scholar in the NC State ADVANCE Developing Diverse Departments program, and advocating for female faculty pursuing administrative positions and leadership roles.

Thanks to all the Equity for Women Award winners for their service and dedication to NC State. We hope you were able to attend this memorable event, and we hope to see you next year!